My 20th Birthday

Waking up on my birthday today was just like a normal day. A normal day with people constantly telling you “Happy Birthday” and you in return telling them “Thank you”. My birthday is nothing special to me. It hasn’t been for the last few years. The last two years since my 18th birthday I sit and think to myself “What am I doing?”, “Where am I going?”, “Where do I need to be headed?”, and “Who am I?”

These questions daunt me every year on my birthday. I have no plans and I have not figured out who I am yet. I keep trying to figure out what my next move is but I feel stuck in a loop every day. The same thing over and over again and I do not enjoy it. My current life style makes me super depressed. I know the only way to get away from the current way of life is to make major changes to make the life I want.

I have a beautiful girlfriend who sticks around through everything and I would not want to lose her. She is there for me when I need someone to talk to, when I have an idea I need to bounce off someone else, or even when I am in the darkest hole. She helps me get through my everyday and is very open to new ideas. She is the absolute best.

Looking forward I don’t see myself in Michigan anymore. I see myself moving to a new location or traveling around the world. I need to find more about me before I can settle down in one location. My goal is to move every year to a new location until I find myself. Hopefully bringing my wonderful girlfriend along.

So now that I have turned 20 years old, here is to new beginnings and new adventures. Today I am going to take a step forward instead of taking a step backwards or standing in the same place. I need to change my way of thinking to taking the next step instead of thinking I will go right to the top. Everyone starts at the bottom and only you can take yourself to the top.

All bold content is bold for my key thoughts/ideas and are bold for mostly me.

Leave a Reply

